the mystical existence

Can spiritual satisfaction be gained as the result of a connection with the natural world? For a moment it seemed Mother Nature might be enough; no matter what else, I could always dip into the comfort of her aesthetics, conveniently push aside every real-world anxiety to pursue the dreamy alternative. The sparkling snow, the crisp air of a pine forest, the rushing of a mountain stream oh god (these are the kinds of things I notice in the wilderness) — that wonderful feeling of true isolation, the truest company one can keep…apart from maybe God… In appreciating these things I conceive dimly of a superior person who does not appreciate these things; rather, he lives them, he embodies them without self-consciousness and without intellectual pretension. In other words, this person has no need to placate a simmering psyche with vague, frustrated descriptors or with field recordings of Ghana and Tokyo and Thailand (evocative as they are!). He no longer craves the artificial escape; by now he doesn’t even remember a time when he did. Meanwhile, my actual life becomes an endless crusade to the understanding of a mystical existence I can never fully experience.

10 Responses to the mystical existence

  1. tezcatlipoca says:

    that’s not true, you /can/ experience them, and many do. However, you have to decide what’s more important, your spiritual “mystical” existance, or your physical existance*, and unfortunately you’ve been brought up in a society that neglects the former in favour of the latter (no matter what any half-assed religious tells you). What you are expressing is a longing for the entirety, that which is necessarily at odds with our physical universe, also known in Zoroastrian circles as “The Lie” (but don’t think I’m repping Zoroastrianism, it’s far too endemically homophobic)
    *Elsewhere in the world one is less forced into an either/or decision, in North America however, with it’s engendered capitalist mentalité, you are more often than not /discouraged/ to consider your spiritual state, focussing instead on a life of work and toil that is meant to be it’s own satisfaction (Arbeit Macht Frei, indeed). CF Max Weber “The Protestant Ethic and the Spirit of Capitalism”, which, unfortunately, is one of the philosophical pillars upon which western society is founded… with the possible exception of those “western” societies that adhere to Catholicism.

  2. Aja says:

    but that’s kinda what I mean — while technically possible to break free of this “capitalist mentalité”, as you so frenchfully put it, I’d have to abandon several of the most important things to me — I’m not sure I can. I suppose it’d be a tradeoff between the brief moments of spiritual satisfaction gleaned from something like hearing a piece of music or reading a passage and the total satisfaction that comes from completely shedding the material existence, which I don’t think I’m even prepared to do (I have a fetish for stereo equipment, and records, and guitars, which certainly do supply happiness, at least in smaller doses). If I only do it half-assed (ie, keep the records), I’m missing the point. And since I don’t want to make that sacrifice, I’m stuck in the struggle.

    Playing in a semi-successful rock band (or artist of any kind) sort of sidesteps this problem, though.

  3. tezcatlipoca says:

    aye, there’s the rub. (your fetish for stereo equipment, and the problems is requires aside) you’ve discovered one of the most important reasons I constantly proclaim “rock star” to be my career ambition–it is, nearest I can figure, one of the most ethically liberating professions if handled properly (quality is undeniable, but it’s still easy to brainwash people).

  4. umunmutamku says:

    “Mystical existence” is a contradiction in terms, gentlemen.

  5. Aja says:

    Are you implying there’s more to mysticism than what I learned skimming the Wikipedia article just now??

  6. tezcatlipoca says:

    Is there more to you than what I learned skimming the wikipedia article just now?
    but to answer your question, no. There’s nothing more to mysticism (:

  7. Kolya says:

    That “feeling of true isolation” is best enjoyed in a crwod of self-consciousness people with intellectual pretension, placating their simmering psyche with vague, frustrated descriptors, craving the artificial escape.

  8. Aja says:

    I disagree; but then my original post demonstrates my unreliable authority on the subject.

  9. Kolya says:

    Okay, I didn’t mean the good kind of isolation that you are after. Probably because isolation isn’t such a desirable state for me.

    Anyway, that’s an interesting blog! :)

  10. Aja says:

    Maybe it’s not so much the desire for isolation, but that the kind of experience I want doesn’t lend itself to crowds — maybe to a single other individual who’s after the same goal, but I haven’t found one yet.

    oh and hey thanks for reading it! People are actually commenting though I expected this project never to extend outside my two or three closest friends.

    I noticed you have a website too; I’ll definitely be reading it.

Leave a Reply

